Skip ACF Banner and navigation
Department of Health and Human Services logo
 Questions?  
 Privacy  
 Site Index  
 ACF Home | ACF Services | Working with ACF | ACF Policy/Planning | About ACF | ACF News ACF Search  
US Department of Health and Human Services
Early Head Start National Resource Center at Zero to Three Home Page
About Us: EHS NRC services
EHS Program Locator: Search for EHS programs by state, city, or region
EHS Consultant Directory
EHS NRC Products and Publications: Technical Assistance Papers, Consumer's Guide to Professional Development Resources, and EHS Program Strategies
Activities
Program Highlights
Information Resources: Articles, annotated multimedia materials, research abstracts, and related links
Calendar: EHS NRC events and a calendar of national training events
Discussion Forums: Home Visiting, EHS Directors Child Care Partnerships, Job Opportunities, Parents, Children with Special Needs, Mental Health, Working with Fathers
Links to EHS Partners: Programs, services, and information to support EHS
Contact Us Feedback Site Map
Search:
EHS Program Highlights
Enhanced Home Visiting Project

The Enhanced Home Visiting Project (EHVP) provides Early Head Start programs a unique opportunity to carefully assess and address the needs of "kith and kin" caregivers who provide services for children enrolled in Early Head Start. The participating programs will develop and implement enhanced home visiting models which recognize that, when a caregiver of an Early Head Start child is not the child's parent, it is important that the caregiver has the knowledge, training and skills necessary to help the child develop to his or her highest potential, including the development of such important skills as language, reasoning, and problem solving.

"Kith and kin child care is care provided by family (kin) and friends and neighbors (kith)." (Bank Street College of Education website, Frequently Asked Questions)

Early Head Start and Migrant Head Start Infant/Toddler programs serving children in a home-based option where the child's parents are working and the child is in the care of a relative or neighbor were invited to apply for funding to develop and implement an enhanced home visiting program to serve children in "kith and kin" settings. Twenty-four programs successfully competed to participate in the three-year project.

Early Head Start Enhanced Home Visiting Project Programs and Contact Information

Children's Friends & Service
Providence, RI
Teri DeBoise (401) 729-0008
Tdeboise@cfsri.org

Kennebec Valley Community Action Program
Waterville, ME
Patti Woolley (207) 859-1613
Pattiw@kvcap.org
Northeast Kingdom Community Action
Newport, VT
Judie Kennedy (802) 334-8676
judik@together.net

The Astor Home for Children
Rhinebeck, NY
Elizabeth (Betty) Colkin (845) 452-4167
ecolkin@astorservices.org

Luzerne County Head Start
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Linda Lispi (570) 824-9050
lindal@hsweb.org
Cen-Clear Child Services, Inc.
Philipsburg, PA
Shirl Smith (814) 342-5678
ssmith@cenclear.org
Monogalia County Board of Education
Morgantown, WV
Barbara Myers Cc:Sandy Walsh (304) 291-9330
myersbar@aol.com swalsh@access.k12.wv.us
Northern Panhandle Head Start, Inc.
Wheeling, WV
Marlene Midgett (304) 233-3290
mmidget@npheadstart.org
Hamilton Center, Inc.
Terra Haute, IN
Jane Mahurin
Cc: Anita Lascelles (812) 231-8436
jmahurin@hamiltoncenter.org
Community Action Wayne/Medina
Wooster, OH
Carla Unkefer (330) 264-8677
cunkefer@valkyrie.net
B-H-K Child Development Board
Houghton, MI
Rod Liimatainen (906) 482-3663
bhk@bhkresources.net
Eight CAP, Inc.
Greenville, MI
Nancy Secor
Cc: Madonna Adkins (616) 754-9315
nsecor@8cap.org
madonnaa@8cap.org
Region 10 Education Service Center
Richardson, TX
Susan Casone
Cc: Leann Kite (972) 348-1600
casones@esc10.ednet10.net
kiteL@esc10.ednet10.net
USD #308 Head Start
Hutchinson, KS
Chris Baird
Vanest Freeman (620) 665-4851
bairdc@usd308.com
freemanv@usd308.com
Northwest Nebraska Community Action Council Head Start
Chadron, NE
Donica Aldalabih (308) 432-5018
donicag@yahoo.com
Woodbury County Community Action Agency
Sioux City, IA
Joanie Drake (712) 274-9940
jdrake@caasiouxland.org
Developmental Opportunities
Canon City, CO
Paulette Bolton (719) 275-1616 x209
pbolton@starpointco.com
Maricopa County
Phoenix, AZ
Mindy Zapata (602) 506-5814
Shasta Head Start Child Development, Inc.
Redding, CA
Carla Clark (530) 245-2867
carlac@shastaheadstart.org
Early Head Start Family Center of Portland
Portland, OR
Cynthia Wells (503) 236-9389
cwells@ehspdx.org
Mountain Area Child and Family Center
Asheville, NC
Pat Sells (828) 298-0808
patsellsrn@yahoo.com
Alabama Council on Human Relations, Inc.
Auburn, AL
Sue Williams (334) 821-8336
Mt. Hood Community College
Portland, OR
Susan Brady (503) 491-6113
bradys@mhcc.edu
Mahube Community Council, Inc.
Detroit Lakes, MN
Bonnie Devore
Cc:Leah Pigatti (218) 732-7204 (218) 847-1385 bdevore@mahube.org




Early Head Start National Resource Center @ ZERO TO THREE
2000 M. Street, NW, Suite 200
Washington, DC 20036
202-638-1144 Fax 202-638-0851

This Web site was developed for the Office of Head Start by ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families, under contract No. HHSP23320042900YC from the Administration on Children, Youth and Families; Administration for Children and Families; U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, to operate the Early Head Start National Resource Center.

Office of Head Start / Administration for Children and Families / U. S. Department of Health and Human Services